Day 7 Gramat to Entraygues-Sur-Truyere

The forecast was for showers to start and 13c with a weather warning for heavy rain from mid-day and temperature going down to 11c so I opted for the 7-45 departure and this was a short stage. It was not a great start to be woken by heavy rain on the motor home roof but the rain had stopped as I was ready to depart. Our camp site had taken us away from the planned route so I took the parallel D840 to Grammat which was definitely a faster road. I had only been cycling about 45 minutes when the next shower started and in the time I took to stop and put on a rain jacket I was already soaked.

Climbing out of Figeac

Climbing out of Figeac

Sadly because of the rain I did not see too much with head down I ploughed on to the old town of Figeac by which time the shower had passed and I did enjoy a very long fast winding descent to the town, this was to be rewarded with a long climb out.

Having climbed up onto the ridge I followed the D2 to Montredon, the church spire visible for miles as a beacon to aim for as the road undulated, I was surprised to see many hikers with poles along this section but later discovered this was part of the GR65 pilgrims trail. I met Kaye at Montredon for a brief coffee stop before enjoying a 5km descent to Port d’Agres and the banks of the River Lot which I would follow for the rest of this stage.

IMG_1153The tree-lined banks were shrouded with mist and low cloud as the sky darkened, the birds had gone silent and all you could hear was running water. I stopped briefly to switch on my lights as the first drops of rain started and then the heavens opened. I am sure this is a delightful section of river but in torrential cold rain it did not have much appeal.

IMG_1155I put the hammer down in an effort to get warm and arrived at Entraygues-Sur-Truyere at 12-30, I had planned to treat Kaye to a long lazy Sunday lunch in town but the rain was so heavy, persistent and cold and neither of us fancied the walk back to the town.

Campsite: Camping Le Val de Suares, municipal campsite €13 with electricity, good wi-fi, hot showers and motor home service point.

Stats 55 miles 2861ft climbing

Sitting in the motor home as the rain lashed down I was wondering how Anne and Katie whom I met yesterday were getting on in the dreadful conditions, more on that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

