Day 5 Confolens to Naihlac (nr Hautefort)

Forecast, temperature 11c overcast with showers. We were woken by the sound of rain hammering on the roof of the motor home, not what I was expecting, I must have been in touch with my feminine side as I had three changes of clothing before I was ready to leave. The roads were very wet and with no guards it was going to be a long day in wet lycra.

Climbing out of Confolens I could see a large gathering of people on the pavements and this turned out to be students all smoking before they went into the school grounds, I guess they all felt pretty cool at an impressionable age.

This fella came over to help as I stopped to look at my map

This fella came over to help as I stopped to look at my map

The tree-lined lanes were dripping with mist and low cloud, France was definitely damp. I passed through small villages of La Brousse, Chirac and Exideuil before a climb away from the River Vienne. The road to Rochechouart was undulating as we entered the Parc Natural Regional Perigord and it was difficult to get into a smooth rhythm with constant gear changes.

From Rochechouart the road winds its way along the D675 this area was hit by one of the largest meteorites ever to reach Earth 200 million years ago and now provides revenue as a tourist attraction. Cycling on through the village of Vayraes I swear I saw the same woman walking through the village I passed in Chirac, very short with a green check house coat, blue rinse, glasses and walking stick. or perhaps its just the height of fashion in this part of France.

I met up with Kaye for coffee at St-Mathieu, France was starting to dry out and the sun had appeared and a short distance after leaving the village I had entered The Dordogne. Carrying on towards Piegut-Pluviers I continued on the D675, Chestnut trees lined the road and this tree is part of the local economy. Augignac and Norton are the next landmarks before the lovely old town of Brantome with its abbey and the river running through its centre. I cleared the town and a rendezvous with Kaye for lunch on the D69.

IMG_1111The route continued with open fields and occasional woodland and although the road was undulating it made for an easy rhythm all the way to Sorges which its truffle museum, I did not stop.

Coulaures and Tourtoirac with its 11th century abbey are next and you are entering Foie Gras country. The countryside is a mix of open farmland and woodland and after passing the village of St-Agnan the road climbs to Hautefort from where a short diversion from the route took as to our camp site at Nailhac.
Camp Site: Camping Cou Cou €14 with electricity and wi-fi at reception, showers were hot although it looked like we the first visitors for a while, lovely spot by the lake worth an evening walk.

Stats, 94 miles, 6343ft climbing

Leave a Reply

