LeJog Day 4 Devauden to Broadstone (N of Ludlow)

Weobley

Weobley

The overnight rain had cleared through to a fine day but with a very gusty NW wind. The day did not start well with the Garmin routing me down some very steep and winding roads with overhanging trees that caused GPS signal to drop. After retracing my steps on a few occasions I also discovered I had left my pump in the motor home so given I would be spending a lot of the day on roads too small for Kaye to follow I arranged an interception at Skenfrith Castle an ancient monument on the B4521. The first 30 miles this morning was a tour of the hills and valleys of Monmouth culminating in the 800ft climb to the top of a very windy Garway Hill.

A very welcome downhill section followed with relatively flat roads through Wormbridge, Cockyard, Madley and Lulham before coffee in Kaye’s mobile cafe at Yazor.

Weobley

Weobley

The next town of Weobley takes the prize for the most interesting town to date. The majority of the buildings are timber frame and photographs do not do the town justice, it must be a Mecca for artists providing a wealth of material.

The road gradually climbed up to Ludlow and after negotiating some narrow streets and impatient drivers I followed The B4365 past the racecourse and then the B3468 to the days destination, The Seven Stars at Broadstone.

Campsite: Sparchford Caravan Site

Devauden to Broadstone 76.48 miles

Climbing 5403ft
Avg Speed 14.3mph
Fastest 34.6mph

