LeJog Day 2 Egloskerry to Wellington, Somerset

2015-05-13 08.06.36The first thing to say about day 2 is that I am glad I did the extra 10 miles on day 1, the hills were very sharp and the downhill sections all seemed to be on winding narrow lanes so the new brake blocks are now well bedded in. I was told day 2 would be tough and it was.

Leaving Egloskerry the first town I came to was Launceston and the narrow roads slowed me to a crawl behind the rush hour traffic. I stopped briefly to photograph a church, an elderly gentleman collecting his daily paper passed the time of day and asked me where I was going, I could not resist saying John O’Groats. I am not sure he believed me as he replied “Oh well its a nice day for it”

2015-05-13 08.41.22The next section can only be described as a slog, a “Welcome To Devon” sign rather perversely positioned to welcome cyclists to the start of the hills. On through Portage and Lewdown and then a long climb along winding lanes to Okehampton. The morning coffee stop in our mobile canteen was a welcome break at Appledore although Kaye is thinking holding out a musette at the side of the road may be better option.

Suitably caffeined up I passed the Cornish Heritage steam railway and the run to Crediton provided beautiful views each side of the road, a patchwork quilt of yellow rape seed, dark green fields of grass, the distinctive local red soil of newly prepared fields and a contrast of light green barley completing the canvas.

From Crediton I routed through Thorverton, a small village I had visited 30 years ago on a cricket tour and it was poignant to see the groundsman putting out the stumps for an afternoon game, I was tempted to stop and chat but carried on to a lunch date with Kaye a few miles further on.

2015-05-13 11.59.55The Rufwell Inn at Latchmoor Green provided fuel in the shape of apple pie and custard, sadly no apple crumble on the menu  but it was certainly needed with yet more climbing before a welcome downhill freewheel to Cullompton.

I crossed the M5 and then a gentle uphill climb to Wellington which is located just to the north of the Blackdown Hills. Our campsite, Cadeside Caravan Club was just to the north east of the town, Kaye was already there and set up so I enjoyed a well-earned shower and of course afternoon tea and cake.

Stats:

Egloskerry to Wellington (Somerset) 68.56 miles

Climbing 5161ft

Avg Speed 14.5mph   Top speed 40mph      Trip mileage 148.71miles

