Wagons Roll

IMG_0510Two days before we left for Lands End and the start of LeJog I collected the Motorhome from parking and Kaye spent the day loading it with supplies as well as nagging me to pack the cycling kit I will need for the journey. I have loaded up every conceivable spare part and tool I am likely to need, the route has been finalised, route sheets printed and the days routes loaded onto my Garmin Edge 800.

The Van Nicholas being the chosen bike for the job has been fettled to death and not wanting to chance it on a ride I decided that my last 70 mile outing would be on my Canyon, it was all going really well until I got a tap on the shoulder and the chimp said why don’t you use the Canyon for LeJog.

It is certainly light and rolling well, or was it just my legs after a couple of days rest from the bike. I had always planned on using the Van Nicholas but felt so good after the distance on the Canyon I was beginning to have doubts.

IMG_0490After a day off of the bike on Sunday for a family christening and much thinking time I was edging towards a bike change to the Canyon. Sanity prevailed on Monday morning and with the faithful Van Nicholas on board and the Canyon returned to the garage we set off on the 255 mile run to Trevedra Camp site at Sennen. The journey took a little over 6 hours and travelling the hills of Devon and Cornwall had me wondering what I had let myself in for.

The camp site is located just off the A30 about 2 miles from Lands End on higher ground with superb views all around. As well as watching the small passenger planes take off from Penzance Airport we were treated to a flying display from squadrons of swallows swooping around the van. Monday afternoon provided blue skies and warm sunshine for a short ride with Kaye and photo call at Lands End. The visitor centre is a rather sad blot on the landscape with tacky shops and attractions but at least they will allow end to end support vehicles free parking. (the only thing on the site that was free) The Lands End Hotel offer a ride verification scheme which provide a form you can get stamped en route to John O Groats and then for a fee a certificate of your achievement. I am afraid I drew the line at paying a fee to stand next to the Lands End direction sign but Kaye captured the moment from the other side of the fence. The obligatory afternoon coffee and cake was replaced with what else but afternoon tea and a Cornish pasty, it just had to be done and so fully fuelled I am set up and raring to go on Tuesday morning.

