LeJog Day 1 Lands End to Egloskerry

The forecast for Day 1 was that overnight rain would clear through and we would have a clear sunny day with a moderate westerly wind so the sound of rain on the motor home roof when I woke up was not a welcome tune.

I could just see blue sky out to the west and by 8am at Lands End the rain had stopped just in time for the start and the obligatory photo and fresh legs that were impatient to start pedalling.

Probably a bit soon to stop for coffee

Probably a bit soon to stop for coffee

The first leg to Penzance was right into the sun which made the Garmin impossible to read and a few dubious routing requests had me wishing I had paper map instead, the Garmin is great but you cannot see the bigger picture.

My first en-route contact came as I rolled up to a junction in Penzance beside another cyclist, I looked across and said good morning, he looked at me and then forward again without reply. I then came up to some traffic lights in the town and stopped only for Mr Grumpy to sail past me and through a red light and then start swearing at the motorist that braked hard to avoid him. I can see why motorists get angry and thought this type of behaviour was confined to London, another myth busted.

The route took me on the A30 and then through Hayle and Camborne and onto the quieter A3407 to Redruth and the first stop at Blackwater. Kaye was already there and waiting with coffee and cake and after a caffeine top up I was off for the next stop at St Columb Major.

Having worked out rough mileage I was somewhat surprised to roll into Whitecross just south of Wadebridge, a phone call to Kaye confirmed I had completely bypassed the lunch stop, I had neglected to add it to the route on the Garmin, oops!

The Cornish lanes are narrow and the countryside has taken on a new look with a plentiful supply of wind turbines and solar farms competing with oil seed rape and grass to provide an income. The moderate westerly wind was a blessing with the rolling countryside allowing good speed and on reaching our campsite at Camelsdale I still felt quite fresh so decided to do another 10 miles to Egloskerry making tomorrows destination a bit easier.

Campsite: Camelsdale Caravan Club Site, Camelsdale PL32 9RF

Stats from the Garmin

Lands End to Egloskerry Distance 80.15 miles
Climbing 5729 ft
Avg Speed 16.4mph
Max Speed 41.6mph

