The food for superheroes #porridge

Porridge is like Marmite, you either love it or hate it. I love marmite but couldn’t say the same about porridge. When I read that it was the preferred breakfast of my superheroes on the Tour De France I decided I should try a bit harder to like it if was going to fulfil my full potential on the bike.

The thought of eating it neat with salt as the hardy Scotts like it had me thinking that perhaps I would have to forego my wannabe superhero status but after a bit of research I came up with a soft southern compromise. You will not see this in any Mary Berry or Nigel Slater cook books but its a great way to make breakfast enjoyable.

The slow release energy qualities of porridge is the bit we are interested in and by adding a bit of fruit, a pinch of cinnamon and a little honey it has turned me into a porridge lover.

Recipe:

I have found this is best prepared the night before and left in the fridge overnight to allow the liquid to soak into the fruit and oats.

Ingredients.

50g porridge oats

45g dried fruit, raisins, apricots, apples. The apricots and apples are diced into 3mm cubes

1/4 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

2 tsp honey

140ml milk

The oats, fruit, cinnamon and salt are mixed in a jug and the milk added and then left in the fridge overnight.

Next morning the mix is microwaved for two minutes, stirring after one minute. When hot place in a bowl and add the two teaspoons of honey.

I now have to cycle every day to justify my breakfast as I am hooked on porridge !! enjoy.

Leave a Reply

