On Your Marks

A couple of days to go before our Coast to Coast ride from Whitehaven to Sunderland and time to service the bike and the last minute check of all the equipment for the trip. The bike I am using is my Cannondale Synapse Carbon 105.

Continental GP4000sSad as I am I actually enjoy a bit of bike fettling so with the Cannondale  suspended from the stand it got a good coat of looking at.  A check of the chain revealed minimal wear so I removed it from the bike and cleaned it in a bath of solvent to remove road dirt and grease build up. Drying the chain I lightly oiled the pins and once back on the bike I gave it a thorough coating of wet lube. Both derailleur  were similarly cleaned and I replaced the 11-28 rear cassette with a 12-30 for a bit more help on the climbs. With everything reassembled I checked the indexing and derailleur stops. Brake blocks and cables were examined and a new set of Continental GP4000s were fitted replacing the old Mavic Aksions , the bike at least was ready.

The accommodation has been booked and the route I planned on Ridewithgps loaded into my DSC_0009Garmin Edge 705,  cue sheets printed out for each day and the Sustrans Sea to Sea paper map as a back up. Spare tubes, puncture repair kit, pump, multi tool, spare chain link  and an emergency gel in the Topeak Aero Wedge bag, I’ll take a chance that we will not need the sun screen.

One area of concern has been the distinct possibility of bad weather on the ride so following a very wet training session that saw my Altura Waterproof jacket leak like a sieve I have purchased a Gore Wear Oxygen GT jacket and a pair of DHB Minima waterproof over trousers. That should at least guarantee wall to wall sunshine.

We have planned the ride over 48 hours so we are not out break any records but to use as a possible stepping stone for longer rides in the future, the kit and organisation is ready to go, lets hope the operator is up to the task in hand and the weather co-operates.

Leave a Reply

